How deep is your love?

The other day my dad texted me: i love you to the moon and back

I told him that that was a finite distance, and there were many known longer paths. Try harder:)

So the next day he says: i love you more than planets

200_s
Image from giphy.comĀ 

I was so confused. “)

My boyfriend is good at saying it. If he wants to add magnitude he adds something tangible like a reason or a promise. Okay a promise is actually worthless but it warms my heart anyway. So he’ll say ‘I love you because you make me want to be a better person’ or ‘I’ll love you ’til you hair turns gray’. You know, the usual (mushy) stuff.

Maybe my dad is intimidated since he knows that I’m dating now, so he over compensates with illogical but heartfelt gestures of love. Hmm…

xSip

Update: A week later my dad hit the jackpot. He managed to articulate his infinite love. ‘I love you to the (heavenly) throne and back’ [paraphrased].

“To love and to be loved is to feel the sun from both sides.” – David Viscott

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

